making kids eat soup

I have been at the end of the plank when it comes to cooking healthy foods for the kids, but just when I’m feeling the most stressed and out of touch with my body and tired of motherhood, something great inspires me to do random stuff like this that makes me feel so good to watch my kids actually enjoy eating “new foods” that head us back in the direction of vegetarian I thought I’d share:

Bunny soup:

saute 1 onion, 3 chopped carrots (1 to 1 1/2 cups), 3 sticks of celery, chopped, 3-4 peeled and chopped potatos in 2 T olive oil or butter with plenty of salt and pepper to taste for 3-5 minutes in a wok or large saucepan

then add 2 cups of soup stock (or do as I did and dissolve an onion boullion cube in hot tap water) and simmer for 30 minutes

the kids loved operating the blender for this bit and it made the celery dissappear and become forgotten, pour the whole mess in the blender and puree, meanwhile returning your pan to the stovetop where you will saute another 1/2 cup of chopped carrots in a little olive oil…this is the part that got my kids to eat the soup, fishing for what they call carrot candy because little sliced circles of carrots are just like Life Savers, dincha know?

return blended soup to pan with newly sauteed carrots and add a little water if it starts hopping like a bunny, and remove from heat

slice a baby carrot lengthwise to make the ears and circles for the tail, a slice of baguette or a crouton makes the body, I let the kids make their own. I sprinkled parmesan on the finished bunnies but I wouldn’t again.

And now I will feel full and relatively healthy for 15 minutes.

2 thoughts on “making kids eat soup

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

