Blue January

This began as a project for this year’s gala but it was a last minute inspiration and was not completed on time (ahem, still isn’t, but did I mention I have a new baby nephew and his quilt gets bound first…). It is called “Blue January” and contains cottons hand-dyed and shibori by me, commercial cottons, silk drapery remnants and is entirely hand quilted and embroidered. A friend told me not to tell too much about my work but the embroidery is obscure enough, ask if you are curious. I started planning the quilt top on January 10, 2009 and had begun binding by the Bayview Gala on February 17th, so this whole fast process of concept to design and execution was fun and fast for me despite having the sleeve and binding delayed.

Bad photo? You bet, but iPhone publishing while I put the kids to bed: priceless!

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

