Ariel's Subtle Sister quilt

My sister chose the color theme of taupe for a quilt I made her following an apartment fire. I was inspired to make this design, based on a basic M’liss Rae Hawley quilt block design and with my own applique design (minimal only because of the time constraints on needle-turn applique, I LOVED doing the hand applique). The color-blending in Japanese taupe quilts is amazing, but requires even more extensive fabric collection than I was capable of for this quilt, but I was so happy to emulate this style. It does include several Japanese imports, though. I wish I had better pictures!

Subtle Sister 2007  60x84 Hand Applique, Machine Pieced and Quilted

Subtle Sister 2007 60x84 Hand Applique, Machine Pieced and Quilted

Detail shows the machine quilting design: If I had all the time in the world I would have loved to do this hand-applique block on every square, but it looks great as the background quilting design too!

Machine Quilting detail

Machine Quilting detail

One thought on “Ariel's Subtle Sister quilt

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

