Moving and revisiting

I am about to start up a whole new WordPress blog with readership greater than one and a focus on my pursuit of my secondary education certification.  However, here is some past work that never got posted here but might be representative of my quilting and crafting.  We just moved to East Van and I was so proud of myself for getting rid of over half of my stashed fabrics and UFOs but that just seems to mean I can’t wait to start sewing again.  And of course, now that I’m busy back at school I am also starting to think about teaching a class or two at this awesome new place I found that is in walking distance of our new apartment!

They are especially interested in machine quilting and quilt construction, AND they have a “modern quilt guild” of about 50 members that meets once a month.  It may be small and sporadic compared with Quilter’s Anonymous but I’d welcome anything at this point that seems to suit my style and isn’t all about knitting!  So without further ado, here’s a few samples of the last 10 years of quilts that I just happened to properly archive. Hopefully I’ll uncover more soon. I have been terrible about documenting my works.

Drunkard Path variation of my own design

Moons For Zoe 2002 - Drunkard Path variation of my own design approximately 24x40 inches

In the corner of this quilt which I both hand and machine-pieced in an effort to discover which was the best way to sew curves on 3 inch Drunkard path blocks (hand is a little better, but most of these were actually machine-pieced), is an experimental paper-pieced sunshine with rays, I enjoy paper-piecing but a lot of the pattern reversals make it hard to anticipate the size of patches needed and wasting even small selveges drove me crazy. If you are going to paper piece, be prepared for a lot of snipping and don’t skimp on seam allowances!

“Piece O’ Kaffe” – I made this quilt as a less stash-intensive variation of a large taupe bedquilt I made for my sister, and inspired by Japanese taupe quilts (where did I file that photo, I wonder?). I also love the fabric and design choices in Piece O’ Cake applique quilt designs – I really loved how this turned out. It was an in-store sample at In The Beginnging Fabrics in 2004 and was entirely sewn on a Viking Designer 1. And of course, showcasing one of my favorite fabric designers, Kaffe Fasset. The quilting is a large all-over stipple borrowed from an In the Beginning fabric used in the background.

Piece O Cake Applique pattern adapted to my own design, with Kaffe Fassett fabrics and embroidery design.Made from NIblet's internet 9-patch swap

Chloe’s quilt was the second baby quilt I made and machine quilted on my grandmother’s Singer Touch n Sew, which I finally sold last week on craigslist because I couldn’t justify moving 4 machines into our new apartment. But it proves that with a little preparation and patience you can machine quilt on nearly any machine. I also found a happy new owner for my great-grandmother’s White treadle machine, congratulations Jade, let me know if you ever do any quilting with it!

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

