Citrus Half Square Triangle Baby Quilt


I finished this quilt! I love the colors my stepsister chose, even though she changed her mind and wound up choosing different colors, it was too late for me because I was already running away with the “citrus” theme. And ironically she also wound up being into gray and turquoise too, so I think this was a fun blend of lots of modern prints in those colors. You may notice that I changed the top and added a thin grey border to the bottom block to square it up better after I split a seam. The blocks are from the 3×6 flickr block swap, but two blocks are missing, mine and shimmyblisster‘s: I packed them away somewhere during our move and I have yet to relocate them, but the quilt had to go on so I have resolved to do a second gray and yellow quilt sometime soon that uses our blocks too…
The back has two angel blocks and a scrap of the Outfoxed print I included as an odd-shaped panel on the front, both because it is so cute and it coordinates with my sister’s diaper bag.

Those are my mom’s cutey booties helping to walk the quilt out in this Seattle sunshine, and she was reading over my shoulder earlier when I started posting and I know she was asking about buying fabric online, so there are some links for her down below. I think she is about one of 3 or 4 readers of this blog! The backing fabric is an adorable Jim Carroll print I got through a fabric coop a while ago.

I also really overachieved great things in September, even though revamping this blog did not make the list. I made a pillowcase for Hopeful Threads’ September project for troops deployed overseas:

I think I got the cuff fabric from a new local Seattle fabric store, but I can’t remember if it was Pink Chalk fabrics or Dry Goods Designs, both of which I’ve been delighted with since we relocated to Seattle. Fabric is cheaper here!

I made 3 cell phone cases from the Modern Patchwork magazine for the baby shower prize draws with some more of that cute Outfoxed print by Lizzy House. Now for October I plan to finish my swap blocks, my blue January quilt still needs to be bound, and I have a strange baby quilt top to piece and complete before Halloween. As if there were no Halloween costumes to sew…

2 thoughts on “Citrus Half Square Triangle Baby Quilt

  1. I like that completed this very sprizzly lemonade and lime quilt, with the grey of Seattle skies, before the baby arrived! You are SO imaginative and productive, Chandra. Awaiting the blue graphic quilt!

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

