Bodhi Tree Skirt


I finished binding an old UFO (UnFinished Object – my friends at Threadbias.com have taught me these are also called “Phd’s” – Projects Half-Done) today! Made from charms I cut from several projects, including a black, green and pink “veggie” themed basket quilt- which I unfortunately gifted without photographing- this was simply a matter of sewing together rows and quilting.
Weird quilting. I pieced the back from a beautiful Joel Dewberry orchid print I’ve had around forever thanks to a fabric co-op I participated in from Canada. The stripe is a Lakehouse print I’ve loved forever that always makes me think of delicious candy, especially candy canes, and since I didn’t quite have enough length, the “Ginseng” filled in.

This is now under our lovely fake tree…we also celebrate Bodhi Day on December 7th when the Buddha sits under our “Bodhi” tree and sometimes presents are exchanged, so I unpacked him and set our Matreya Buddha on the quilt as soon as I finished photographing it. Quiltcon has already taught me something: quilts can be taped to the wall with painter’s tape: some is peeking out on the Dewberry side of the back.

One more thing, the photo isn’t great, but my mom took it today before sending the dress out to a friend in Japan who I know will love it for her 6 year old daughter. I made this for a friend of the family for her 5th birthday, she is 12 now and still a very good friend of the family. Her mother saved it the whole 7 years we were in Canada because she just knew it would be meant for someone special. It is very weird and strange colors, etc…what is the upside down horshoe applique all about? But it was made with a lot of love for a kid who has turned out to have just as much courage and weird fashion taste as this dress suggests. I know my friend in Japan will be delighted by the weirdness too (there is a bumblebee appliqued on the back because I just couldn’t stop, even after the 1″ wide piecing on the hem). Thanks mom, for the photo!

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

