Sea Town

Sea Town

My Sea Star for the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild Challenge charity quilt is done.  I am not really a paper-piecer but I wanted to challenge myself and I have always liked this pattern from Six White Horses.  I am relieved I tried this Lone Starburst instead of Anna’s Star Seams, I don’t think I’m precise enough.  I  love this city so much and I love being local again!

How great is it to celebrate another local business, Clothworks, who sponsored this block challenge for our guild with their new Everyday Organic solids line. These fabrics handled so well while I paper-pieced, even though I have issues and consistently want to pre-cut my pieces to the right sizes before stitching blind through the paper. I did a lot of pinch and flipping and seamripped several 1.5 mm stitched seams!  And this fabric didn’t distort at all…but, my block did.  That would be the seamstress, not the pattern or the fabric. I will keep the paper on until after I finish the last seams next time. I can’t decide which part of Seattle this block makes me think of more: the space needle or the Supersonics.  Regardless, I’m happy this block will go into a local charity quilt that also furnishes new beginnings for Seattlites in need of comfort.

I have this new Macklemore single running through my brain all week and I think I subconsciously wanted to honor the Space Needle.  If you haven’t seen the video, the Space Needle is prominent at the end. I love that Heist flag too and all the Pacific Northwest imagery…if only it were chevrons instead of waves I might piece that flag!  I first heard Macklemore on KEXP a little over a year ago singing My Town and it was when we’d first gotten the news we might be moving back to Seattle and it still makes me tear up. And now I’m in Seattle, so happy to celebrate this new city and to be binding a quilt to display at Folklife, right under that needle. We went to a Mariner’s game last summer when I first got into town and Macklemore was playing at WaMu for $11 and I thought about taking the kids but I was afraid they wouldn’t know any of his songs.  Now they know all the words to “Thrift Shop” and I’m the fool. There is some controversy lately about some new Paul Allen development blocking the view…I am torn between loving the way Harbor Center and the Fairmont Hotel are buried in the Vancouver skyline (modern!) and understanding the desire to preserve the view, the distinction that makes everyone recognize Seattle.

Speaking of popping tags…I just cancelled my old domain this morning, so this is my new home on the internet (whee, I’m FREE!).  I also did my taxes yesterday, Canadian and American.  So now I’m going to work out and celebrate this beautiful sun and head to the Angels game tomorrow night at Safeco.

I know, I need to get back to my other “star” projects…time is precious.

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

