Silk sample sewing

photo 2 (2)

I have had a busy busy year.  I can’t believe that despite this, I started sewing Yoshiko Jinzenji blocks from her Modern Sampler after I picked up her book at Third Place books.  Although that wasn’t quite what happened really.  I picked up the book and longingly savored her minimalist composition, and then put the book away in my neglected new sewing room.

And then Debbie from my guild and A Quilter’s Table published her Block A on Instagram and I instantly recognized the pattern from the book I’d just bought.  I became obsessed.  I clean my sewing room looking for my Marimekko scraps from Pirkko.  Never found them, but in my newly cleaned sewing room I began cutting into all my silk selvedges and I cannot stop loving this project.

photo 1 (2)I even finished another assignment toward my Master’s degree yesterday (I passed, only 5 credits to go!) so that I could make my second block A as a reward.  And now tonight I’m making another “practice block” for Block B.  I may wind up foundation piecing the official one, but I am just loving this project.  Thanks again to Debbie and Salty Oat for hosting this quiltalong even if I never get past Block C (although I really want to skip to F…)and even my fabulous Seattle Modern Quilt Guild secret swapper Jonna (bespokeoutlaw) for inspiring me in this rainy November week.

One thought on “Silk sample sewing

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

