Halfway through the modern sampler and a very mini mini quilt

photo

Modern sampler blocks

We are halfway through the Modern Sampler Quilt Along and I couldn’t be enjoying these blocks more.  I was relieved when I noticed that Caitlin’s blocks are also not all the same sizes, I figure that is a problem for future me, especially because the silk may fray as they wait in the cupboard for more blocks to join them. The new “F” block is in the middle, and this block is definitely my favorite and I was looking forward to making it even before I found out about this quilt-along when I first found the Yoskiko Jinzenji book at a local bookstore and couldn’t resist it.

In another avenue for procraftination, I decided to embark on the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild’s Mini Mini Quilt Swap to add to my divine collection of our guild’s fine workmanship.  But wait, did I read that right?  Perimeter no greater than 24″?  That means 6×6 or 5×7 or maybe an ambitious 2×10 mini-quilt?  I decided that I would experiment with Season Evan‘s Mighty Lucky Quilting Club February challenge (actually I might have played with this more than once, the other result is much bigger and for a later post).  She is a guild member I am extremely lucky to have a quilt by, maybe someday I will even post a picture, it goes great with the yellows in the new house.  Anyhow, here is the back of my mini mini quilt (I’m not sure if I should reveal the front or not). Those are teeny tiny Cotton and Steel linen bunnies.  I have spring on my brain, just not my homework.

photo 1 (2)

Ok, I’m really heading back to writing a paper now, right after I walk my lovely patient dog.

One thought on “Halfway through the modern sampler and a very mini mini quilt

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

