Log Hearts

I’m thinking of my family a lot this week and there have been some similarly scrappy, traditional log cabin quilts floating around the modern quilting universe.  But mostly its thanks to Debbie at A Quilter’s Table and her easygoing blogging style (not to mention completely uplifting and validating tendency to comment on nearly every post I make) for inspiring me to just jump in to blog land when I have a few spare moments.  I saw her link to Scraptastic Tuesday and immediately thought of this quilt only to realize I’d never blogged it, so here it is.

log hearts

Many of these scraps pre-date even my earliest quilting days and were inherited from my mother or even my grandmother.  The last move we made in BC in 2010 saw a lot of these scraps off to new homes, but the ones I’d already cut into 1 1/2″ strips survived and eventually saw a finish in 2012, when I gave this to my stepfather for Christmas.  These classic log cabin blocks still entertain me and I love how many  different vintages the fabrics span.

One thought on “Log Hearts

Have something to say? I'd love to hear from you!

